A BIG thank you.

Today I finished my final and most inspiring placement at Hobsonville Point Secondary School (HPSS).  It was the educators at this school that made it the most positive experience of my fledgling teaching career.

Students are the focus of our schools, and so they should be, but for a student teacher learning the trade it is the Associate Teachers that are the focus.  These teachers are the ones that give up their time to help our training by being our guides and mentors, and helping us learn the ins and outs of our trade.

After having my confidence knocked more than once it took only one day at HPSS to remind me why I had chosen teaching as my new career pathway.  It is amazing what can be accomplished with the innovative, student-focused and inspiring educators who make up the staff at this school.

I want to say a massive thank you to these educators.  The ones that gave up their time to help me learn and inspired me all over again to be the best educator I can possibly be.  These people went out of their way to provide me with help, they were always there for support and advice, they did more than what was expected of them.  They went beyond their duties, helped me to understand my chosen trade and were always there when I needed to unwind.  They understood the stresses of a student teacher and accommodated for them.  These educators became more than my mentors, they became teachers that I am inspired to be like.  It is for this reason that I dedicate my first ever blog post to the most amazing mentors a student teacher could ever ask for and to all the other Associate Teachers that support the training teachers of today.  Thank you, thank you, thank you.

PS.  To HPSS #I’llbeback

Leave a Reply

